“Your hair is too nappy!” My first Big chop.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I got my first BC (Big Chop) when I was in the second grade.  The relaxer of choice was the ever popular Vigorol Liquid Relaxer.  It wasn’t long before I started experiencing hair breakage.  Looking back on it I can’t really blame the total outcome on the product.  My mother really didn’t understand my hair, nor did she have the access to “What To Do” blogs back then.

The day my hair cut took place was OK.  The stylist told me my hair would grow back better than before.  And she suggested cute earrings and such.  Reality check: That following Monday at school I found myself sitting in the hallway crying.  My hair was too short for a girl.  And just too nappy  according to the boys that taunted me.

A few years later I found myself sporting a Jehri Curl.  You couldn’t tell me my hair wasn’t cute.  Plus the fact it grew more than it ever had.  I was happy.  That was until I paid a visit to my father’s house up North.  He hated my processed hair and offered me money to blow-dry it.   I did.  More breakage.

It wasn’t until sometime after high school that my views on hair changed.  It wasn’t that I  hated my hair in the past.  The fact is I was never taught to love it.  With age and a little extra wisdom.  Hair for me was just that –  hair.   I cut it boy short, weaved it,  relaxed it, colored it, grew locks to my back, relaxed it, sported an Afro and cut it again and so on and so on …

In September 2009 after sporting a weave that nearly drove me crazy because it just wasn’t me.  I decided I would transition into a natural hair style.  On the day I planned for my  coil twist with a pony in the back, I changed my mind and did the Big Chop instead.  I didn’t cry.  Or feel extremely emotional.  I do recall feeling free as I ran my fingers through my new do.

My hair routine is simple when it comes to products.  With my hair type moisture and protective styling is the  key to my hair success.  My  product list includes: Shea Butter,  vegetable glycerine, Jojoba Oil, Burt’s Shampoo and Conditioner, water , Henna and Natures Blessings.

The cool thing about being a natural are the doors that have been open to communication with other naturalistas like myself.  We talk in the grocery stores, the library and the park too.  It’s OUR personal choice for a natural hair journey that seems to connect us in a very unique way.  I love it!

Leave a Reply

