Curl definition with KCCC

I was  first introduced to  Kinky – Curly  Curling Custard via one of my favorite sites known for information on natural hair and products.  I’ve viewed countless videos on how wonderful this natural styling gel is for natural hair.  Then I had a long conversation with  a woman I met at my child’s school and then after  a trip to health food store I pulled my debit card from my wallet.

Being somewhat on the  frugal side, I have to admit I don’t like the product pricing. I’ve rounded my purchase off to $17 dollars  for an eight  ounce jar.   But how could I refuse a miracle in a jar.  I too want my kinky coils to look good too.  I wasted no time after returning home with the gel and the accompanying/suggested conditioner.

According to the directions someone with thick coarse hair like mine should make sure the hair is dripping wet during the application process.  In the end I am not impressed with this product.  I don’t like the hair shrinkage or the sticky feel I got after applying perhaps more than needed after not seeing the results I hoped for.

My new natural sister from our kiddies school has great hair and the Kinky – Curly gel looks great on her coils.  Perhaps our hair textures aren’t that much a like as I guessed just from a visual inspection. I’m going to give this product another try once my hair is a little longer.  Maybe length will be the key.

“17.00 dollars!” That’s me doing my Chris Rock impersonation.  Do you know what I could have bought with that money?  Pull-ups for my child, some organic chicken, beans and rice and a glass of wine.  OK, I’m being dramatic.

For the frugal gals like myself.  When my hair was a little shorter I styled my hair with Fantasia IC Styling Gel ($3.99), Vegetable Glycerine , Jojoba  Oil and a brush.  The compliments were many (from both the men and women). And yes, my curl definition was awesome too.  Without the hard or sticky feel that can occur with some gels.

Would I suggest this product to  a friend?  Yes, one that was born with a loose wavy curl pattern.

Ingredients: botanical infusion of water, horsetail, chamomile, nettle and marshmallow, organic aloe vera juice, agave nectar extract, tocopheryl acetate (vitamin e), pectic, citric acid, potassium sorbate and natural fragrance

*NOTE- This product is designed to work alone but ultimate curl definition and length is said to be   achieved when used with KNOT TODAY as a leave-in conditioner.

2 thoughts on “Curl definition with KCCC”

Leave a Reply

